Menu

Messod Bendayan


904-626-4359 | Resume | E-Mail | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Thanks for stopping by my little corner of the World Wide Web.

Use the tabs above my name to get samples of my broadcasting/journalistic work.


Below are my answers to the 10 most commonly asked questions about me, both personally and as a broadcaster. I usually get asked this stuff during job interviews, so I figure it's worth posting on here, if only to save some time.

1) Your name. Um... uh... how's it pronounced?
MUH-sod Ben-duh-YAWN. It's easier than it looks at first sight. ;)
 

2) Is that the name you use on air?
It depends. In the past, most of my employers have asked me to use an on-air name, either for safety reasons or because they thought my real name was a little too difficult for listeners to understand. Personally, I prefer to use my real name, but I've learned to be pretty flexible about it. It's not a deal-breaker one way or the other.

3) You sure have a unique name. What's the story behind your family lineage?
My parents came to the United States in the mid-1970's from Spain with my three older brothers in tow after spending around a decade between there and Israel. I was born in Miami a few years later, as was my little brother. My parents, however, are neither Spanish nor Israeli.
My dad's side are Sephardic Jews from Morocco; his generation was the last born there before they all went to Israel in the 1960's. As for mom, she comes from Cuba. She left in the 1960's for Spain and that's where she and my dad met. Barcelona, to be precise.

4) You say you speak Spanish, but you don't have a Hispanic name. Mind explaining that?
If you read #3, you can probably guess this part. My parents mostly spoke Spanish at home. Also, my maternal grandmother lived with us until she died and she couldn't speak anything but Spanish. I guess, technically speaking, it's my first language, but I wasn't formally educated in it unless you want to count the Spanish classes I took in school. I am fluent and have worked as a Spanish broadcaster. Most of my radio experience is in English, though.


5) I'm sure that resume link to the right is nice and pretty, but I just want to know the basics. Hit me.
Counting my time in college, I have over a decade's worth of broadcast experience. Most of it's working in news/talk and sports radio as either a board operator, producer, reporter or anchor. After I graduated from college, I stayed in South Florida and worked in that market for a few years behind the board and doing some fill-in on-air work. I always wanted to be on-air full-time, though, and I finally got that chance in North Carolina, so I left. I stuck around there for five years, working along the way for IMG College and the Carolina Panthers. I also got married to a Southern redhead who puts up with far more from me than she should. After a year in Washington, DC working at SiriusXM, I took a news reporter job in Florida, partly because living closer to family and in a place without snow sounded pretty good. The wifey misses the seasons, but at least she's got a tan now. Sorta.

6) Do you consider yourself a news guy or a sports guy? It's kind of hard to tell from your resume.
This question annoys me a bit. I know there's this need in the media business to pigeon-hole people into certain types of jobs, but I've never understood it. I like to think I can do a lot of things well, not just news or sports. I've done a lot of production work. I've run board plenty. I've done traffic reporting. I know social media. I'm not a website expert, but I know how to do basic maintenance and provide content (this website is an example of both). I've learned that having that sort of versatility can really come in handy. I've had bosses tell me I'm sort of like a Swiss Army knife in that sense and I guess that's a good way to put it.

7) What markets have you been heard in?
More than I care to remember. First, it was South Florida. I went from there to North Carolina (Greensboro-Winston-Salem-High Point). Thanks to IMG College and my studio work on the radio networks of the Akron Zips, the Vanderbilt Commodores, the Arkansas Razorbacks and the Oregon Ducks, you can add all their markets to the list. I also filled-in on a bunch of their other 70 or so college sports networks. From my 2 years with the Carolina Panthers, you can add South Carolina and Mexico. SiriusXM covers all the USA and parts of Canada. My last two news jobs have been in Daytona Beach and Jacksonville, respectively.

8) What's your sports knowledge like?
Football, baseball, soccer, basketball... not necessarily in that order. College or pro makes no difference to me; I like both. I'm kind of a fantasy nut, for the record. I'm no golf or NASCAR expert, but I know enough to talk about them during updates. Ditto for hockey. I love tennis; got 3 varsity letters in that in high school plus 2 in bowling. And I've done my fair share of high school football, too.

9) What's your ultimate career goal?
I've learned not to have one. Life's a journey, not a destination. I prefer to enjoy the ride and let tomorrow just happen as it will. Seems to have worked out for me so far. Having said that, I would eventually like to get into management, which I've only officially done so far during my college radio days.

10) Coke or Pepsi?
I've always preferred RC, actually. I'm really more of a water kind of guy, but I'll drink almost anything as long as it's not sweet tea. I may have lived in the South for a long time - Miami doesn't count - but some things are just beyond my palate.

If you've made it this far, I apologize for taking 3 minutes or so of your life that you will never get back. If you have any other questions, just call or e-mail me.

messodheadshot
messodheadshot
+



© 2016, All Rights Reserved.


Last Updated: 06/26/2016